NaNoWriMo…

Have I lost my mind?! YES.  Because of course I have extra time between chasing my 15month daughter around, settling into our new place, making some money, and working on my current WIP to add an intense national online writer’s challenge to finish a 50,000 word novel over 30 days.  Why not? Unfortunately, you are not allowed to continue working on something you have already started; however, fortunately, for me I have had an additional idea bouncing around in my head and this will be a great opportunity for me to flesh it out and see if it takes shape.

So NaNoWriMo here I come.  I have never done this before.  I looked into it last year, but we were in the middle of moving across country so I didn’t think it was a convenient time, but when is right? 😉 So this is it! I’m going to go for it and hope to God, that I can finish or at least give it a decent go.

So, I’m beginning to plot.  I’ve got my new notebook dedicated for this story (I like to have a notebook for each story to make random notes and ideas, keep track of characters, plot and setting notes, etc. – I also just read a post from the Paperback Writer blog on her notebook style inspiring me with further organization.)  I’ve got my main characters sketched out and the story is taking shape in my head.  I tend to be a “panster” (one who flys by the seat-of-her pants) and wing it, but I also like to do a little planning so I have an idea of where I’m going at least.  I have tried since high school- probably even earlier than that- to be organized and write by outline and plot points, but to no avail.  I tend to work best off of a title or a main character.  I don’t know why, just the way my brain works.

So for now, my story involves: a boy and a girl, magic of sorts, fight or flight, loss and love.  Young adult urban fantasy.  What more could you want, right?!

Stay tuned…

PS, if you too are a NaNoWriMo participant this year, come find me!  My username is Mjmayze

Leave a Reply

